Punjab Barani Tract

  • The Punjab’s Barani Tract consists of 13 districts with 54 tehsils and 1130 Union Councils. It is spread over 12.6 Million acres with the estimated population of 26.40 million people. Districts falling under Punjab's Barani tract i.e. Rajanpur, D G Khan, Layyah, Bhakkar, Khushab, Mianwali, Chakwal, Attock, Rawalpindi, Jhelum, Gujrat, Sialkot and Narowal,
  • It accounts up to 12.6 million acres of land, and have about 75 percent forest wealth of the whole province
  • About 90% of the known reserves of minerals of the province, e.g. Coal, Rock Salt, Gypsum etc, which can be explored to enhance the industrial as well as economic growth of the province
  • About 75% of the forest wealth of the province
  • 10.0 million acres of one of the world’s best-endowed range-land, which can be developed as grazing areas and growing fodder crops to support the livestock development.
  • Rich topographical/ecological climates i.e. Murree Kahuta up-lands, Potowar plateau, Salt range, Riverain and Thal areas having different rainfall zones requiring different sets of development models
  • 31.537 million people i.e. 29% of the total population of the province, which can be developed to bring them in the mainstream of economic activity and for efficient utilization of the available resources